"It was so horrible. It just couldn't happen" ...Unprecedented Peach Clock Ending, 21SV Closer Devas
It was literally the ending of a strange and strange game. The game between the Washington Nationals and the Colorado Rockies at Coors Field in Denver, Colorado, ended in an unexpected scene.
The game was a tight race, but Washington took a 7-5 lead in the top of the eighth inning with Luis Garcia Jr.'s two-run shot to the left in the bottom of the eighth inning. However, Colorado's Ryan McMahon's solo shot to the left kept the game within one point in the bottom of the eighth inning.
Then, he faced the bottom of the ninth inning. To preserve the lead by one point, Washington placed Kyle Finnegan, the closing pitcher with 21 saves and an ERA of 1.72 this year, on the mound. However, Finnegan was shaky. He was on the verge of hitting the first and second bases with no outs, as the leadoff hitter Hunter Goodman had a hit to the right and Jake Cave had a hit to the left, and even allowed Brent Doyle to make a timely hit to the left. The game was tied 7-7. He committed Blon Save.
Afterwards, Ezekiel Tobar hit the right-handed, facing the danger of loading the bases with no outs. Ryan McMahon, who had hit a home run in the previous at-bat with the bases loaded with no outs, entered the batter's box. Finnegan had two strikes against McMahon, but ended up in the full count. Then, he threw the ball in the seventh pitch. Then, referee Hunter Wendelsted left the post and shook his arm. Then, he pointed at pitcher Finnegan and made a gesture of violating the pitch clock. The ball itself was a ball, but the ball was declared a violation of the pitch clock. This led to a walk to pushback. Everyone was puzzled, but the Colorado Rockies belatedly enjoyed the joy of winning the game 8-7. Finnegan was puzzled.
It was not a thrilling ending that everyone wanted. It was the end of games that both Colorado and Washington did not feel good about. It was the first end of violations of the pitch clock since the introduction of the pitch clock system. 토토사이트 추천
The Major League has been implementing the pitch clock system since last year to shorten the duration of play. Early last year, the company applied 15 seconds when there was no runner and 20 seconds when there was a runner. However, starting this year, when there was a runner, the pitch clock shortened to 18 seconds and wanted faster progress of the game. Violation of this system gives the pitcher the ball. On the contrary, a batter has to prepare to bat until eight seconds are left, and violation of this system gives the batter a strike.
Last year, the first year of the pitch clock introduction, the game ended in a draw in spring camp with automatic strikes declared due to a batter's pitch clock violation. On February 26, 2023, Atlanta batter Carl Conley ended the game in vain with a strikeout in the ninth inning with two outs and a bases loaded in the middle of the game between the Boston Red Sox and the Atlanta Braves.
In fact, Finnegan violated more Peach Clock than anyone else this year. He has committed nine violations of the Peach Clock this season. He is the No. 1 violator of the most violations. It was the fourth violation of the Peach Clock ever, but Finnegan is the first to violate the walk-off Peach Clock.
It was the ending of a game in which everyone was puzzled and puzzled. Ryan McMahon, who was given a walk to end the game, said, "I never watch Peach Clock. I wasn't watching the referee eight seconds later. I was watching the referee do his job."
"It's crazy. I wasn't involved in the situation, but it's awesome. McMahon had a really good at-bat," said Hunter Goodman, who started the upset story by hitting a single off Finnegan as a leadoff hitter in the ninth inning.
Shortstop CJ Abrams said, "It's too late to make any noise. You wouldn't have heard it even if you shouted because the stadium was noisy. It was just a strange ending."
Washington coach Dave Martinez said, "You have to be aware of the situation to a certain extent. Finnegan could have warmed up and stepped back. It was a difficult situation, but we also have to keep that in mind." Still, he said, "He was just slow. He is still a closer. I made a mistake in today's game, but if it's Finnegan in a normal way, he won't burn the game down."
"At first, I thought I was keeping the pitch clock well. That's why I didn't know what kind of call the referee made," Finnegan said. "Then I realized I threw too late. I feel terrible that I let my team down at the critical moment. Losing like this is impossible," he blamed himself.
"I'm not going to try to change everything. It's important to me, but I just need to get better. I like to use pitch clock to my advantage, but I have to check how much time I have left. But today, I didn't check the time, and I had to pay for it," he said, vowing that this would no longer happen.
Last updated